Access keys used on this site are:

Images of a woman having a chest X ray and a patient having an MRI, magnetic resonance imaging scanSchool of Radiology

Radiology is a wonderful career choice. It combines the challenge of diagnosis, using all forms of imaging techniques, with the increasing role of catheter-based interventional treatment. It remains a general specialty, so the training provides a good grounding in all sub-specialty areas, but most radiologists now choose one or two sub-specialty areas in which to develop a specific interest and expertise.

Health Education England, Wessex offers three years of core training before two more years focusing on sub-specialties. If you opt to pursue interventional radiology, there will be three years following core training.

There are 47 training posts with Wessex and we're happy to provide opportunities for those that wish to train flexibly or less than full-time. We've a reputation for high-quality training with particular excellence in head and neck imaging, cardiothoracic imaging and oncology imaging. 

Our aim is to produce consultant radiologists with a sound grasp of imaging fundamentals but also with established excellence in particular areas of imaging or intervention. We want to help you become an expert who is able to think his/her way around clinical problems and provide advice and expert opinion/management to referring clinical teams and their patients.

After obtaining CCTs, Wessex trainees have an excellent record of taking up consultant positions and many are appointed to posts in hospitals in the region.

We support sub-specialty training in the following areas of radiology:

  • Breast imaging
  • Cardiac imaging
  • Gastrointestinal imaging
  • GU imaging
  • Head and neck imaging
  • Interventional radiology (vascular and non-vascular intervention)
  • Musculoskeletal imaging
  • Neuroradiology (including interventional neuroradiology)
  • Nuclear medicine
  • Oncology imaging
  • Paediatric imaging

 

Where we provide training

Besides the hospitals of Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust and Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust we provide training in district general hospitals including:

 

Other opportunities for trainees

There are opportunities for those that wish to develop an academic interest, with links with the University of Southampton.

Several imaging sub-specialties within the school now provide post-CCT fellowship-style posts where additional experience and training can be obtained.

What makes Wessex different?

Wessex provides a course to prepare trainees for FRCR part one exams in your first year, and a part two preparation course in years two and three. Once you have your FRCR diploma, the school runs a course on the role and requirements of senior trainees making the transition to consultant practice and provides guidance on the leadership skills this requires.

There are two regional radiology meetings each year for radiologists and radiology department staff that provide an excellent educational forum, and an opportunity for trainees to present their research work or topics of educational interest.

Is this right for you?

We'll expect that you have a passion for the subject, an enquiring mind and a determination to do your best for patients.

What to do next

The Wessex Radiology Southampton Scheme Programme Description (Word) is available to download.

The Wessex Radiology Portsmouth Scheme Programme Description (Word) is available to download.

Contact us

Name & Title Contact Details
Head of School

Dr Stephen Harden

Stephen.Harden@uhs.nhs.uk

Programme Manager

Lisa McChrystal

Radiology.WX@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Co-ordinator

Alex Bellamy

Radiology.WX@hee.nhs.uk

Regional Advisor

Dr Julian Atchley

julian.atchley@porthosp.nhs.uk

 

Portsmouth Training Scheme

Name & Title Contact Details
Programme Director

Dr Chukwumobi Ihezue

Chukwumobi.ihezue@porthosp.nhs.uk

Year 1 Educational Supervisor

Dr Chukwumobi Ihezue Chukwumobi.ihezue@porthosp.nhs.uk

Dr Daren Gibson daren.gibson@porthosp.nhs.uk Dr Angelique Beling angelique.beling@porthosp.nhs.uk

Year 2 Educational Supervisor

Dr Daren Gibson daren.gibson@porthosp.nhs.uk

Year 3 Educational Supervisor

Dr Chukwumobi Ihezue

Chukwumobi.ihezue@porthosp.nhs.uk

Research Co-ordinators

Dr Daren Gibson daren.gibson@porthosp.nhs.uk

Dr Tony Higginson tony.higginson@porthosp.nhs.uk

Year 4/5 Educational supervisors

Dr Simon Coles simon.coles@porthosp.nhs.uk

Dr Julian Atchley julian.atchley@porthosp.nhs.uk

Dr Rachael Harrison rachael.harrison@porthosp.nhs.uk

Dr Janine Domjan janine.domjan@porthosp.nhs.uk

Dr Elizabeth Tilley elizabeth.tilley@porthosp.nhs.uk

Portsmouth Radiology Training Programme Committee

Contact the committe secretary, Karen Elliot karen.elliot@porthosp.nhs.uk

 

Southampton Training Scheme

Name & Title Contact details
Programme Director

Dr Rachel Oeppen

rachel.oeppen@uhs.nhs.uk

Year 1; FRCR Part 1

Dr Rob Allison

robert.allison@uhs.nhs.uk

Year 2 & 3; FRCR 2a / 2b

Dr Howard Portess

howard.portess@uhs.nhs.uk

Year 4 & 5; Post FRCR 

Dr Tim Bryant

tim.bryant@uhs.nhs.uk

DGH Tutors

Name & Title Contact Details

Hampshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Jonathan Brant  

jonathan.brant@hhft.nhs.uk

Bournemouth 

Dr Sonya Snape

sonya.snape@rbch.nhs.uk

Poole

Dr Andrew Leonard

Andrew.leonard@poole.nhs.uk

Salisbury

Dr Graham Lloyd-Jones

graham.lloyd-jones@salisbury.nhs.uk

Chichester Dr Briony Burns Briony.Burns@wsht.nhs.uk

ARCP | SpR Rotations Southampton and Portsmouth | Radiology Prospectus

 

bottom of page graphic

 

A note to our visitors
AcceptWe have updated our Privacy Policy in compliance with EU cookie legislation. Take a look at our Privacy Policy to learn how we use cookies to collect anonymous site usage information. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our Privacy policy.
You'll keep being notified until you click the “Accept” button